Litchfield News

Litchfield election recap: some new faces win seats (11-10-17)

John Cox, a Republican, was elected to Litchfield's Planning and Zoning Commission on Tuesday, while Lynn Stone, a Democrat, below, earned a seat on the Board of Education. BZ photos

Tuesday's election is a memory - a bad memory for candidates who had to wait until Wednesday for official vote tallies - that has reshaped some of the boards and commissions in town.

The Planning and Zoning Commission received an overhaul with the election of regular members Denise Raap, a Democrat, and Max McIntyre and John Cox, both Republicans. Mitchell Samal, a Republican, William Conti, a Democrat, and Nancy Tarascio-Latour, a Republican, regained their seats as planning and zoning alternates.

New faces on the Board of Finance are James Stedronsky, a Democrat, and Richard Quay, a Republican, while Rose Blondin, a Democrat, and Sky Post, a Republican, regained their seats as alternates.

First-timers on the Board of Education are Republicans John Morosani and Matthew Terzian. Lynn Stone, a Democrat who had been filling a vacancy on the board, was elected to a full term. 

Steven Ardussi, a Republican, is back on the Board of Assessment Appeals and Francis Carpentier, a Republican, and the incumbent town treasurer won his seat in the biggest rout of the election, over Betsy Glassman, a Democrat. Avery Jenkins, a Democrat, won a seat in the uncontested race for the Board of Assessment Appeals.

Town Clerk Lisa Losee and Tax Collector Nancy Southard, both Republicans, ran unopposed.

Led by First Selectman Leo Paul Jr.'s win over Matthew Blasavage, a Democrat, the Republicans maintained a 3-2 majority on the Board of Selectmen.

Republicans John Morosani, above, and Matthew Terzian were elected to the Board of Education.

Back to News