Litchfield News

Goshen Turkey Trot celebrates 40th anniversary (11-24-17)

Chris Petroff of Cheshire wins the Goshen Turkey Trot on Thursday. John McKenna photos

The 40th annual Goshen Turkey Trot drew 503 runners and walkers to the Goshen Fairgrounds on a cold but bright and beautiful Thanksgiving morning.

Four decades after Clifford Cooper of Litchfield and a group of running friends conceived and carried out the idea of a Thanksgiving Day race in Goshen, the 6.2-mile race is as popular as ever. Thursday's turnout was among the largest in the history of the race.

Johanna Kimball of Goshen and her son, Roger, directed the race and were assisted by a large group of volunteers who handled pre-race registration, set up the finish line, distributed water on the course, and did whatever it took to make the race successful.

It was a bittersweet occasion, however, as it was the first Turkey Trot without Johanna Kimball's husband, Tony, who died Nov. 3. Tony Kimball worked tirelessly behind the scenes in support of the race. Wording on this year's official longsleeve race shirt paid tribute to Tony.

Chris Petroff of Cheshire was a first-time winner of the race as he outdueled Brandon Leclair of Goshen to win in 35:22. Leclair finished second in 35:43. Sami Glass of Goshen successfully defended her title as first female with an overall finish of sixth place and a time of 39:49. Jim Zoldy of Goshen was eighth in 40:23 to give Goshen three top-10 finishers. 

Marc Dalke was the first Litchfield finisher, placing 12th in 40:56. Hillary Wiles-Lafayette of Litchfield was the runner up female with a 20th-place time of 41:50.

Results by Fast Track Timing

Sami Glass of Goshen was the first female finisher in the Goshen Turkey Trot for the second straight year.

Brandon Leclair of Goshen finished second.

The ageless Jim Zoldy of Goshen was eighth.

Mike Main of Litchfield celebrates at the finish line.

Goshen recreation Director Colleen Kinkade, the race's announcer, and race director Roger Kimball.

John Baker of Milton volunteered at the finish line.

Bill Smith, left, of Bantam, and Jim Baker of Litchfield were volunteers.

Mat Wheeler, center, of Goshen, kept the bonfire going.


Sami Glass and Brandon Leclair confer before the start.

Augie Broughton of Litchfield crosses the finish line.

Marc Dalke of Litchfield feels the burn.

Sherri Odell of Litchfield was third among women.

Erin Simmons of Litchfield heads for the finish.

Dean Birdsall of Litchfield finishes with his usual smile.

Matt Andrulis Mette and Tammy Grella, both of Litchfield, grind it out.

Tim Angevine of Warren has it in cruise control.

Patty Dauten of Bantam was running instead of flipping pancakes.

Dan Kobylenski of Goshen finishes another Turkey Trot.

Lauri Szpak of Goshen eyes the finish line.

Marty Connor of Goshen has run the race for years.

Sami Glass and Brandon Leclair both won frozen turkeys for being the first female finisher and first male finisher, respectively, from Goshen.

Courtney Dalke of Litchfield won a pie for finishing second in the women's 30-39 division.

Turkey Trot stalwarts Marathon Mary Smith, above, of Bantam, and Janet Hooper, below, of Goshen, make their way across the finish line.

Back to Sports