Litchfield News

Retro Dodge Ball Tournament was memorable (03-25-19)

Balls of Glory, above, was one of the teams in the Retro Dodge Ball Tournament on Saturday. Below, tournament organizers Michele Saunders, Jay Bolton, center, and Matt Terzian stand at attention for the national anthem. John McKenna photos
The third annual Retro Dodge Ball Tournament held at Litchfield High School on Saturday was an overwhelming success as 22 teams squared off in the fundraiser for the Litchfield Education Foundation.
It was a full afternoon of fun organized by LEF members Michele Saunders and Dave Reynolds and tournament founders Matt Terzian and Jay Bolton.
Team Impact, a unit made up of players from Meriden, Middletown and Wallingford, outlasted the competition in the double-elimination event. The Combat Wombats, another out-of-town team, was runner up.
Many participants donned retro uniforms in the spirit of the event. Basketball officials Jon Torrant and Michael Bates donated their time as referees, while many Litchfield students served as volunteers. The four organizers were assisted by about three dozen volunteers.
A silent auction of more than 50 gift certificates donated by local businesses helped raise more money. Afterwards, the tournament concluded with revelry at the Litchfield Saltwater Grille.
Girl Scout Troop 40113 and the Litchfield High School Chamber Choir sing the national anthem.
Paige Young of Madness in the Middle unleashes.
Alan Landau of Litchfield Hills Fitness makes a grab.
Mike Wilson and Madness in the Middle teammates celebrate.
Matt Terzian was one of the masters of ceremonies.
Frank Simone of the Tech Troopers takes aim.
Referee Jon Torrant keeps an eye on the action.
Craig Yard of Litchfield Hills Fitness was an imposing force.
Jeremy Brignolo, left, and Dan Tyrell of the Village People.
Jay Bolton, left, and Dave Reynolds, two of the organizers.
Tournament founders Matt Terzian and Jay Bolton.
Team Inpact took home the championship trophy. Team members were Sean McMahon, Alex Perez, Taylor Girdley, Tyler Meta, Jeff Giobincin and Ryan McComb.
The Billy Goats won the trophy for best costume. Team members were Kevin Lacilla, Chris and Mike Vescera, Paul Pernal and Kelly Blake.